{Up and Comer} Barnhill and Josh Langston

You heard it here first folks! That’s right. Many of you have been saying to your friends “I heard about them on Galleywinter” when a new artists come up in conversation. It’s what has helped Galleywinter grow as well as our entire music community. With so many styles of music out there ranging from honky tonk cowboy music to straight up southern rock and everything in between, our kind of music has a lot to offer. Which is exactly why we have this Galleywinter feature. We like to expose bands and artists who are on the way up and let you decide. Suggestions are always welcome if you hear of a band that is on the way up. Which brings us to our next edition of Up and Comer. This time around our two featured artists are Barnhill and Josh Langston.

Barnhill, fronted by Stacy Barnhill, is currently in the studio working on their debut album. Originally set for release on April 1, 2005, Barnhill decided to push it back to leverage the expertise of producer Merl Bregate. Bregate has produced a number of national artists as well as some of the bigger names on the Texas scene. As far as Barnhill goes, they have only been together for 5 months but have had a run of pretty good fortune since the start. Opening for Honeybrowne and Aaron Watson for their first two shows only a week apart has helped them hit the ground running so to speak. Stephen Gay, Eric Wilt, Jamie Kruger, Don Crider and Stacy Barnhill currently make up Barnhill. Crider is a seasoned, experienced and very talented steel player who has played with several mainstream country bands during his career. But don’t let the twang of a pedal throw you. The rock leaning country style that attracts most fans to more well known bands on the scene now is part of the appeal of Barnhill. To find out the rest, you’ll just have to download the tracks we have available for them. “Nights Like This” and “Up From the Bottom.” Be sure to check out Barnhill’s website at www.barnhillmusic.com

Josh Langston’s first effort “Walkin’ Away” is worth a listen. Available now on his website www.joshlangston.net for only $11.50 (including shipping) it’s quite a deal. Especially when you consider the price makes each song less than a dollar. But what does Langston have besides an inexpensive CD and a website? Talent and heart that shows. “Walkin’ Away” grabs you from the beginning and is one of those albums that makes you sit in your car in the parking lot running idle until the song is finished so you don’t miss anything. Well at least it was that way for me. As Langston wouldn’t have it any other way, this album has had the extraordinary talents of Milo Deering and Jeremy Watkins lent to it. If that’s not reason enough to see a show or buy the album then maybe these tracks will convince you. While I can only put up two tracks, I’d love to put the whole album up for download because it was so hard to choose which ones. Available are “Inmate 1928” and the title track of his album “Walking Away.” Be sure to check out his website for tour dates.

These two artists are great Up and Comers and we are proud to feature them at Galleywinter. Go catch their shows, buy their CDs and merch to keep them on the road for everyone to enjoy. I know when I come home to Texas to visit, I’m going to try to catch shows of both of these guys if I can.


Ryan "Tank" Hargrave

I'm a husband, father, traveler, a Light in the dark, lover of photography/film and I believe that good music can change your life.

12 thoughts on “{Up and Comer} Barnhill and Josh Langston

  • October 4, 2018 at 12:11 am

    It’s amazing to visit this site and reading the views
    of all mates about this paragraph, while I am also eager of getting experience.

  • October 8, 2018 at 6:34 am

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.
    I will always bookmark your blog and may come back later
    in life. I want to encourage you continue your great writing, have a nice holiday weekend!

  • October 10, 2018 at 5:35 am

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was
    a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how can we communicate?

  • October 14, 2018 at 12:51 am

    I spent four years trying EVERYTHING in Online Dating, and through a huge amount of trial and error, I produced a system that I will share for you. This book will take you, step by step, through everything you need to know to double, triple or even quadruple the number of women you meet online.

  • October 15, 2018 at 1:26 am

    I simply want to mention I am just all new to weblog and actually liked you’re blog. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You really come with really good well written articles. Thank you for revealing your web site.

  • October 17, 2018 at 2:40 am

    Wonderful web site. Lots of useful info here. I am sending it to a few friends ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you on your effort!

  • October 17, 2018 at 3:36 am

    I have been surfing online greater than 3 hours nowadays, yet I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It¡¦s pretty value sufficient for me. Personally, if all web owners and bloggers made good content material as you did, the web might be much more useful than ever before.

  • October 18, 2018 at 12:31 am

    Useful info. Lucky me I discovered your site unintentionally, and I’m stunned why this twist of fate didn’t happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  • October 18, 2018 at 12:42 am

    I¡¦ll immediately grab your rss as I can’t in finding your e-mail subscription link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Kindly allow me recognize so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  • October 22, 2018 at 3:53 am

    Good ¡V I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your website. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs and related information ended up being truly simple to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it in the least. Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or anything, site theme . a tones way for your client to communicate. Excellent task..

  • October 22, 2018 at 4:36 am

    I am only writing to make you be aware of of the wonderful discovery my friend’s girl undergone reading your webblog. She noticed numerous issues, which include what it is like to possess an incredible helping mindset to let many people really easily master specific hard to do topics. You actually did more than my expected results. I appreciate you for showing these interesting, healthy, informative and cool guidance on the topic to Kate.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.