LJT 25 Preview: Saturday

SATURDAY

The final day of Texas Music Fest always brings a welcomed downshift in rowdiness and fiascos.  The lineup reflects that shift in vibe.  I first saw Terri Hendrix and Lloyd Maines perform at LJT when it was back in Meridian in a 1999 set opening up for Pat Green…then at the height of his Texas Music powers.  Terri and Lloyd were able to command an audience of drunken college kids and old hippies there only to scream along to “Southbound 35” in a way I thought impossible.  Their act has only grown in command, precision, humor and greatness in the ensuring 14 years.  I can’t think of a better bookend act to open up the last day of LJT 25 at 12 noon.

rwh

Ray Wylie Hubbard is nearly as synonymous with LJT as Larry Joe himself.  He’s been playing the event dating back to its meager beginnings and has seen it grow immensely during that time.  Hubbard is at his best in an environment such as this. A crowd filled with various ages and musical backgrounds shading themselves from the Texas heat and entering their final LJT power hours for one more year.  Ray Wylie’s lowdown bluesy tales of shady characters and drop D grooves will have the entire crowd swaying, tapping, clapping, whooping and hollering around 2PM.

William-Clark-Green-Time-580x370

The most buzzed about young act hitting the stage this year is William Clark Green.  Soon to release his fantastic new album Rose Queen, WCG will have a lot of eyes and ears on him for the first time.  It will be interesting to see how he and the crowd respond to this scenario.  The Tejas Brothers have become renowned for their LJT sets that encompass the best elements of Doug Sahm and Delbert McClinton and sprinkle it with a heavy dose of entertainment value. They’ll be rocking the mainstage around 5PM.

los-lonely-boys-456-062812-498

Following the Tejas Brothers are the Los Lonely Boys.  The Los Lonely Boys were a brave booking choice for the LJT folks a few years ago when they made their first appearance at the festival.  However, the San Angelo rooted pop-rockers delved into those roots for one of the most entertaining sets I’ve seen at the 15 LJT festivals I’ve attended.  Rocking and free, the Los Lonely Boys’ enthusiasm tanscended to the audience and created one of the coolest scenes Melody Mountain Ranch has had.  I’m willing to bet they recreate that on the mainstage around 6PM.

Jack+Ingram+jackingram14_e

Jack Ingram returns to LJT for the first time in a number of years around 8PM.  Once an annual performer, Ingram has chased other muses over the past few years before recently returning closer to his booking roots with gigs like LJT.  Ingram is the only person I’ve ever seen bring the entire festival to a welcomed standstill when he performed “Goodnight Moon” under a full moon at an early 2000’s LJT festival.  Thousands of drunk, sunburned, tired, burnt out revelers shifted into lullabye mode and it remains one of the coolest concert moments I’ve had anywhere.  He is Jack Ingram…and he plays country music at LJT once more.

Brad Beheler

Raised in Waco, refined in the Hill Country, escaped from DFW. I've worked in just about every facet of the music business for 20 years. I like to write about it all. e-mail Brad Editor-in-Chief

43 thoughts on “LJT 25 Preview: Saturday

  • October 9, 2018 at 11:13 pm
    Permalink

    I am genuinely thankful to the holder of this web sitewho has shared this great piece of writing at here.

  • October 13, 2018 at 7:09 am
    Permalink

    sMe8VM I truly appreciate this post. I ave been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You have made my day! Thanks again..

  • October 14, 2018 at 3:49 am
    Permalink

    I simply want to mention I’m beginner to blogging and honestly loved your web-site. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You amazingly come with exceptional articles and reviews. Bless you for sharing with us your blog.

  • October 15, 2018 at 5:25 am
    Permalink

    liked every little bit of it and i also have you book marked to see new information on your web site.

  • October 15, 2018 at 5:46 am
    Permalink

    Very nice post and straight to the point. I don at know if this is actually the best place to ask but do you guys have any ideea where to get some professional writers? Thx

  • October 15, 2018 at 7:26 am
    Permalink

    Would you be interested by exchanging links?

  • October 15, 2018 at 9:36 am
    Permalink

    Very nice article and right to the point. I am not sure if this is actually the best place to ask but do you people have any ideea where to get some professional writers? Thanks

  • October 15, 2018 at 1:42 pm
    Permalink

    Judging by the way you compose, you seem like a professional writer.,.;*~

  • October 15, 2018 at 3:24 pm
    Permalink

    This is one awesome article post.Really looking forward to read more. Really Cool.

  • October 15, 2018 at 3:51 pm
    Permalink

    Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is magnificent, let alone the content!

  • October 15, 2018 at 3:53 pm
    Permalink

    I seriously get pleasure from your posts. Thank you

  • October 15, 2018 at 4:15 pm
    Permalink

    Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I ave been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

  • October 15, 2018 at 9:12 pm
    Permalink

    Wonderful article! We are linking to this particularly great content on our site. Keep up the good writing.

  • October 15, 2018 at 10:52 pm
    Permalink

    Great goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely great. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is really a wonderful website. xrumer

  • October 16, 2018 at 12:44 am
    Permalink

    It as nearly impossible to find educated people for this topic, but you sound like you know what you are talking about! Thanks

  • October 16, 2018 at 2:56 am
    Permalink

    Magnificent site. A lot of helpful information here. I’а†m sending it to several friends ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thanks for your effort!

  • October 16, 2018 at 5:11 am
    Permalink

    These players are generally in one of the most storied and exciting programs in college

  • October 16, 2018 at 5:35 am
    Permalink

    Really enjoyed this blog article.Really looking forward to read more. Keep writing.

  • October 16, 2018 at 7:45 am
    Permalink

    Only wanna remark that you have a very decent internet site , I the layout it actually stands out.

  • October 16, 2018 at 11:48 am
    Permalink

    Incredible! This blog looks exactly like my old one! It as on a totally different subject but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Wonderful choice of colors!

  • October 16, 2018 at 3:38 pm
    Permalink

    I’а†ve learn some excellent stuff here. Definitely value bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how so much effort you set to make this kind of great informative web site.

  • October 17, 2018 at 1:11 am
    Permalink

    A person essentially assist to make seriously posts I’d state. That is the first time I frequented your website page and up to now? I surprised with the research you made to make this actual publish incredible. Fantastic task!

  • October 17, 2018 at 1:13 am
    Permalink

    of course like your web site but you need to test the spelling on several of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very troublesome to tell the reality then again I¡¦ll surely come again again.

  • October 17, 2018 at 11:10 pm
    Permalink

    Great awesome issues here. I am very satisfied to look your post. Thanks a lot and i am looking ahead to touch you. Will you please drop me a mail?

  • October 17, 2018 at 11:20 pm
    Permalink

    hi!,I love your writing very a lot! share we keep in touch extra about your article on AOL? I need a specialist on this space to resolve my problem. May be that’s you! Having a look ahead to peer you.

  • October 17, 2018 at 11:20 pm
    Permalink

    I must show thanks to you just for rescuing me from this matter. Because of researching through the the web and finding notions which were not helpful, I thought my life was gone. Being alive without the solutions to the difficulties you have resolved through your article content is a crucial case, as well as those which could have adversely damaged my entire career if I had not encountered your web page. Your own understanding and kindness in controlling the whole thing was crucial. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I had not encountered such a thing like this. I can now relish my future. Thanks very much for your skilled and results-oriented help. I won’t be reluctant to suggest the website to any individual who would like counselling on this matter.

  • October 19, 2018 at 2:04 am
    Permalink

    This actually is definitely helpful post. With thanks for the passion to present this kind of helpful suggestions here.

  • October 19, 2018 at 6:43 am
    Permalink

    We all speak a little about what you should talk about when is shows correspondence to because Maybe this has much more than one meaning.

  • October 22, 2018 at 9:56 am
    Permalink

    Wonderful items from you, man. I ave bear in mind your stuff prior to and you are

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.