Bart Crow Band-Brewster Street Live

Due to the massive success of  live albums in this scene ever since Jerry Jeff first released Viva Terlingua, bands feel obligated to release a live album at some point.

Sometimes bands do this too soon in their careers and others use it as a last resort to stay relevant.  But, with few exceptions, the finest ones are the collections that capture the zeitgiest of the scene and are a snapshot of a band at the peak of their musical prowess.

With Brewster Street Live, Bart Crow Band has arrived at this point.

Through several years of gigging hard as they built up an audience, Crow and company have come to the point where they have enough material and a sizable enough following to demand a live album.  They have responded to this demand with a collection of songs that sound much larger sonically than their studio counterparts.

This can most likely be attributed to Crow’s band.  They are tight from countless nights spent burning roadhouses down and honing their craft in the smoke-filled venues of the Red Dirt circuit.  Their musicianship smooths rough edges and lends some strength to the spots in the show/album where Crow’s voice needs help shouldering the load. Crow’s vocals come across like Gary Allan meets Tom Petty at times…but he always uses his instrument to suit the song.  The addition of Meagan Jones on backing vocals is a nice boost to this cause and helps give all the vocals a larger place in the mix than they might have otherwise seen.

The set list is composed of many favorites from over the years and it kicks off with “Driftin’ In the Wind”.  This first track does a tremendous job of setting the tone for the rest of the album and it is followed by “She’s The Only Reason” which features a shout along repeating chorus that would please Nikki Sixx.  The pace stays upbeat before landing on “Hollywood”.  This is a power ballad that has the ladies in the audience singing along and Crow delivering his best vocal of the album.

Much of Crow’s catalog is full of lyrics that detail heartbreak and desolation.  Yet, he and his band bring a strong intensity to each of these tracks that make even the most desolate turns of phrase seem momentous as they plow through tracks like “Change” and “Sayin’ Goodbye”.

It is, of course, all building up to the “Wear My Ring” crescendo, on which BCB does not disappoint.  They deliver the song with a fresh energy that matches the crowd’s enthusiasm for the song that has become Crow’s calling card.

A key to any live album is the energy coming from the crowd, and those who attended the Brewster Street sessions were evidently vocal, boisterous and happy to be there.  The energy they give off and to the band is a critical element that makes this a successful live record.  Additional kudos must be given to producer/engineer Adam Odor for capturing the raw essence of the band in their element without muddying things up as can often happen on a live recording.

This is a live collection that falls in line with the other good live records from this scene.  It will make those who are already fans of Bart Crow happy and it will also turn some unfamiliar ears onto what it is that they are doing.

Check out a track from the album on The Drop

Purchase the album from

Brad Beheler

Raised in Waco, refined in the Hill Country, escaped from DFW. I've worked in just about every facet of the music business for 20 years. I like to write about it all. e-mail Brad Editor-in-Chief

15 thoughts on “Bart Crow Band-Brewster Street Live

  • Pingback: Tweets that mention Bart Crow Band-Brewster Street Live | Galleywinter --

  • October 5, 2018 at 5:59 pm

    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

  • October 6, 2018 at 10:05 am

    I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.

    I’m quite sure I’ll learn many new stuff right here!
    Best of luck for the next!

  • October 8, 2018 at 7:40 am

    I was recommended this website via my cousin. I am now not positive whether or not this publish is written via him as no one else know such detailed approximately my
    trouble. You are incredible! Thanks!

  • October 14, 2018 at 12:15 pm

    I just want to mention I am just beginner to weblog and definitely liked your blog site. Very likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You actually have beneficial well written articles. Thanks for revealing your blog site.

  • October 16, 2018 at 7:04 am

    Wonderful web site. Lots of helpful info here. I am sending it to some friends ans additionally sharing in delicious. And naturally, thanks on your sweat!

  • October 17, 2018 at 3:17 am

    great issues altogether, you simply gained a new reader. What might you recommend in regards to your put up that you simply made some days in the past? Any certain?

  • October 17, 2018 at 3:18 am

    I¡¦m no longer sure the place you’re getting your info, however good topic. I must spend a while studying much more or figuring out more. Thanks for excellent information I used to be on the lookout for this info for my mission.

  • October 21, 2018 at 10:56 am

    Thanks a lot for sharing this with all people you actually recognize
    what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked.
    Kindly additionally visit my website =). We will have a hyperlink exchange contract
    between us

  • October 21, 2018 at 11:58 am

    I’m excited to discover this website. I need to to thank you for ones time due to this fantastic read!!
    I definitely loved every part of it and I have you book marked to see new stuff on your blog.

  • October 21, 2018 at 10:20 pm

    I haven¡¦t checked in here for some time because I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are good quality so I guess I will add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

  • October 22, 2018 at 1:44 am

    I happen to be writing to let you know what a wonderful encounter my friend’s daughter obtained visiting your site. She realized a wide variety of things, including how it is like to possess an awesome giving character to have many more just master a variety of complicated things. You really did more than people’s expected results. Thanks for giving these warm and helpful, trustworthy, informative and in addition cool guidance on your topic to Tanya.

  • October 22, 2018 at 7:22 am

    Hiya, I am really glad I’ve found this information. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and net and this is actually annoying. A good website with exciting content, that’s what I need. Thank you for keeping this website, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can’t find it.

  • October 22, 2018 at 7:43 am

    I think this is among the most important info for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But want to remark on few general things, The website style is wonderful, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.