Facebook Twitter RSS

Articles by Author

Halfway to an Epic 2015

The past 6 months have inundated us with so many good records that it is easy to let some slip through the cracks.  By removing labels and just focusing on what is truly good in the music, you free yourself up to so many wonderful bands, songs and albums.  2015 has been deliriously great in the first half.  Can the 2nd half, anchored by a new Turnpike release, eclipse or equal the first half?  We shall see.  In the meantime, here’s our informal Top 10 records at the halfway point (in no particular order).  Also notice how none of them would be labeled “Texas/Red Dirt”…even the Randy/Wade one.

Chris Stapelton-Traveller.  Quite simply, this record is simple and extraordinary all at the same time.  Stapleton’s voice is rangy, yet always suits the songs.  Country, rock, soul, folk, “Outlaw”…this man does it all and it’s the most listenable record to be released in a number of years.

Dawes–All Your Favorite Bands.  These California folk rockers have been extremely buzzed about and championed for several years and albums, but this one feels like a masterpiece.  Lyrics that rip your heart out and melodies that raise your pulse.  A break-up record with groove.

Leon Bridges–Coming Home.  Fort Worth soul throwback has gone from twin bills with Aaron Stephens in New Braunfels to The Tonight Show in under 12 months.  Otis Redding would approve of this smooth collection and you should too.

Courtney Patton–So This Is Life.Keep Reading

Greenfest Artist Preview: Micky and the Motorcars


Back in 2004, there was a young band starting to make waves in the Texas Music scene.  They were striving to get out of the shadow of their brothers’ band and carve out their own path.  One of their first big, Texas gigs was headlining GF04 alongside The Lost Trailers and Django Walker.  It was at the old Coppertank in Austin and we raged. It was a very cool, historic night.  Soonafter, the band flew up the ladder and caught on with audiences across the state and beyond.  Their songs were becoming radio staples and they had created their own identity.  11 years later, we’re more than proud to bring that band, Micky and the Motorcars, back to GF to rock the house once more.  MMC on the river…it doesn’t get much better.

Greenfest tickets:  http://greenfest.preferredfan.com/

Performance date/time:  Saturday July 18 at River Road Icehouse, approx 10:30PM

Years at Greenfest:  2

Twitter:  @themotorcars

Keep Reading

Greenfest Artist Preview: Drew Kennedy


Drew Kennedy has been a Greenfest anchor for the past nine years, as he has played in some capacity at each of the last ten events.  Since 2009, Drew has hosted our Lone Star Floathouse acoustic river jam portion.  His affable humor, immense talent and welcoming nature have been integral in making the Sunday part of Greenfest such a success.  We are excited to have him back once again in the thick of the Sunday activities at Floathouse.  Join us for what’s become a summer tradition:  Drew’s Floathouse Greenfest set.  You never know who will show up to sit in, listen or participate.  A parrot just might join in.

Greenfest tickets:  http://greenfest.preferredfan.com/

Performance date/time:  Sunday July 19 at Lone Star Floathouse, 9PM

Years at Greenfest:  10

Twitter:  @dk_music

Keep Reading

RIP Tom Skinner


Sometimes you gotta have faith like a blind man standing in the middle of the road…

We should all be thankful that Tom Skinner had faith, heart, wisdom, wit and resolve to make one of the greatest impacts on this kind of music that has ever been felt.

Rest in peace Mr. Skinner

Greenfest Artist Preview: Brant Croucher

photo-original (1)

Brant Croucher is a Houston based singer/songwriter who cut his teeth in the vibrant Denton music scene while attending the University of North Texas.  Croucher is a songwriter that knows how to deliver resounding emotional punches with soft blows.  He crafts and deliver songs that remind you of other times and places, while remaining wholly original.  Brant also owns the greatest bio currently circulating the Texas/Americana scene.  Read it HERE.

Greenfest ticketshttp://greenfest.preferredfan.com/

Performance date/time:  Sun July 19 at Lone Star Float House. 6PM

Years at Greenfest: Debut

Twitter:  @Brant_Croucher

Keep Reading

Oakley Sunglasses Outlet Fake Ray Ban Sunglasses Cheap Oakley Sunglasses Tiffany Sunglasses Sale Louis Vuitton Sunglasses Outlet Michael Kors Bags Michael Kors Bags Outlet Ralph Lauren Pas Cher Gucci Sunglasses Sale Cheap Chanel Sunglasses Fake Ray Bans Sunglasses Oakley Sunglasses Discount Ray Ban Sunglass Hut Ralph Lauren Pas Cher Michael Kors Sac Pas Cher Michael Kors Soldes Ray Ban Sunglasses Sale Michael Kors Sac Oakley Holbrook Replica Oakley Radarlock Ray Ban Sunglass Outlet Oakley Sunglasses Outlet Michael Kors Sac